Saturday, August 8, 2009

I think this time I have figured out the pictures

So with John's help I think I have figured out the pictures...however, you will have to put figure out what they are from what I wrote a few days ago....but I don't think it will be too hard.
 
I hope you enjoy them.....
 
Sheryl
 
P.S.  I only have about another 200...and Don has tons too...so if anyone wants more, let me know....enjoy

Thursday, August 6, 2009

no pictures

I attached a bunch of pictures to the post...but they did not go with the email....I have no idea what I did or did not do.....when I figure it out I will try to get the picture of on.
 
Any suggestions??
 
 
Sheryl

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

FW: Egypt...amazing


 

From: donald.eastop@sympatico.ca
To: john.mcgarr.thesudon@blogger.com
Subject: Egypt...amazing
Date: Wed, 5 Aug 2009 02:27:10 +0000

Well, I am finally getting to putting something on the blog...we have been home just over a week and to sum up the holiday would be...amazing!!!
 
 
I have attached some pictures, so hopefully they come out.  I only picked a few because I did not figure you wanted to look at the approximately 200 pictures.
 
The first day we went to the Museum, that is the first picture...I think we were a bit tired and we were not used to the heat.  The only one who looks okay is Don, it was actually cool for him compared to Sudan.  So we walked around there for awhile and then went back to the hotel to the pool.
 
We, of course, went to the pyramids...and there is really nothing that I can say that can really describe it.  And of course we rode the camels.  It was actually a long ride...around the pyramids.  It was great...except the carpet on our camel was hurting my legs, so the owner wrapped his scarf around my waist and then it was much better.  I also was talking to the camel and Donald was 'so embarrassed'!!!  There is a funny story about our camel ride.  Everything in Cairo is a negotiation...taxi rides, buying things at stores, paying for entrances and of course camel rides.  We had a 'tour guide'.  He was a friend of a friend of a friend...you know how Don always seems to find these people...anyway...he was our negotiator, our interpreter, our photographer...he was great.  His name is Maater (have no idea how to spell it, just spelling it like it sounds).  He was part of our family for the time we were in Cairo...and we actually missed him when we went to Sharm....Molly and him seemed to have this little flirty thing going on (he is 21!!!), but that is another story...
 
Back to the camel...Maater is talking to the guy about the ride, oh ya, they are also very aggressive...so another guy is getting Molly and Don on the camel and then all of a sudden, it was like a drug raid and all the guys and camels take off running down the desert, they all just scattered....of course I have no idea what is going on because I do not understand the language...there are tourist police and I guess the camel guys are not to be so close to the pyramids and bug the tourists and a police came and they all scattered....it was very funny...Don and Molly both said they were a bit scared when they started to take off running on this camel!!
 
But the ride was excellent and we have tons of pictures from it and video...because Maater also did that!!
 
Another night we walked the streets of Cairo...and let me tell you...that was very interesting.  Donkeys eating out of the garbage bins, a million stray cats sleeping everywhere, young kids playing every where, corn on the cob being cooked on an open flame on the sidewalk...Don was a nervous wreak but the kids and I loved it.  Molly was getting lots of attention because she is white and blond hair...so dad was watching out for her as some groups of boys would follow us for a bit. 
 
Traffic is crazy...there are no rules of the road...basically do what you have to do to get where you have to go.  And seat belts..whats that???!!  When you fit 16 people in one small car, seatbelts just do not matter.  And pedestrians just walk out into traffic when ever and cross the road.  The most used part of the car...is the horn!!  I think it is for a warning to get out of the way!!!  So we crossed the street, just to say we had done it!!!  And every taxi ride was an adventure.  The first day, I was a bit nervous, after that...it just did not matter!
 
Don and I went out later that night at about midnight, to a shop (which opens at 6:00 p.m. and stays open throughout the night!)  That was another interesting thing...nothing closes...people of all ages out until all hours of the night!!  No one seems to sleep!  At this shop, we drank tea and smoked shish (again do not know how to spell it) it is a water pipe...that was a treat.  So of course Don had to buy one, he has it with him in Sudan, but beware the next time you are here...you will probably have to try it out!!
 
We also went on a Nile Cruise, it was a dinner cruise with singers, belly dancer and this other really neat guy who did a dance.  In one of the pictures, that is Maater...like I said, he was a part of our family.  That was our last night in Cairo...so it was sad to say good bye to him.
 
Then we went to Sharm el-Sheik...to an all inclusive resort.  It was beautiful and it was on the Red Sea.  The water was crystal blue and it was so warm, the shallow parts were actually like bath water.  We went on a day trip snorkelling...which was awesome and it was all video taped, so of coarse, we had to buy that too!!  We saw a ton of unique fish and sting ray and turtle...  The other picture is just Don and the kids playing in the pool at the resort. 
 
I would say the only complaint would be that the resort was owned and operated by Italians, so 90% of the people there were Italian and all the entertainment was in Italian.  So that was a bit of a bummer...because we did not go to any of the entertainment at night...we would not have understood any of it.  Most people also spoke english...but we did not really make any friends nor did the kids make any friends because of the language barrier.  But we just made our own fun.
 
The food was very good at the resort...not so good in Cario.  The first night in Cairo Molly was sick and then the first night in Sharm Donald was sick.  I think they just ate something that did not agree with their system.  And since we have been home, Molly and I seem to be having a bit of a digestive problem...but that will pass soon (I hope!!)
 
The other thing that was a learning curve for me was that everyone expects a tip...the guy opens the door for you..wants a tip...the guy takes your luggage...wants a tip!!  Even if they work there...they still want a tip!!  Most times I would just say no thanks...or I don't have any money!!
 
The haggling at the market was fun...I managed to get some really good deals (I think!!!)
 
We went back for one night to Cairo and then the kids and I fly out at 8:30 in the morning and Don flew back later the same day.  It was hard to say good bye...but we had such a great trip.  Don is homesick and he wished he was coming home with us...but he still has 4 months to go...
 
Plus...we are probably going to go on another trip in October...this time we are looking at a Mediterranean cruise...I want to go to Greece!!!
 
So that is sort of our trip in 500  word or less...but like I said it was amazing!!
 
Talk to you all soon
 
Sheryl
 

Egypt...amazing

Well, I am finally getting to putting something on the blog...we have been home just over a week and to sum up the holiday would be...amazing!!!
 
 
I have attached some pictures, so hopefully they come out.  I only picked a few because I did not figure you wanted to look at the approximately 200 pictures.
 
The first day we went to the Museum, that is the first picture...I think we were a bit tired and we were not used to the heat.  The only one who looks okay is Don, it was actually cool for him compared to Sudan.  So we walked around there for awhile and then went back to the hotel to the pool.
 
We, of course, went to the pyramids...and there is really nothing that I can say that can really describe it.  And of course we rode the camels.  It was actually a long ride...around the pyramids.  It was great...except the carpet on our camel was hurting my legs, so the owner wrapped his scarf around my waist and then it was much better.  I also was talking to the camel and Donald was 'so embarrassed'!!!  There is a funny story about our camel ride.  Everything in Cairo is a negotiation...taxi rides, buying things at stores, paying for entrances and of course camel rides.  We had a 'tour guide'.  He was a friend of a friend of a friend...you know how Don always seems to find these people...anyway...he was our negotiator, our interpreter, our photographer...he was great.  His name is Maater (have no idea how to spell it, just spelling it like it sounds).  He was part of our family for the time we were in Cairo...and we actually missed him when we went to Sharm....Molly and him seemed to have this little flirty thing going on (he is 21!!!), but that is another story...
 
Back to the camel...Maater is talking to the guy about the ride, oh ya, they are also very aggressive...so another guy is getting Molly and Don on the camel and then all of a sudden, it was like a drug raid and all the guys and camels take off running down the desert, they all just scattered....of course I have no idea what is going on because I do not understand the language...there are tourist police and I guess the camel guys are not to be so close to the pyramids and bug the tourists and a police came and they all scattered....it was very funny...Don and Molly both said they were a bit scared when they started to take off running on this camel!!
 
But the ride was excellent and we have tons of pictures from it and video...because Maater also did that!!
 
Another night we walked the streets of Cairo...and let me tell you...that was very interesting.  Donkeys eating out of the garbage bins, a million stray cats sleeping everywhere, young kids playing every where, corn on the cob being cooked on an open flame on the sidewalk...Don was a nervous wreak but the kids and I loved it.  Molly was getting lots of attention because she is white and blond hair...so dad was watching out for her as some groups of boys would follow us for a bit. 
 
Traffic is crazy...there are no rules of the road...basically do what you have to do to get where you have to go.  And seat belts..whats that???!!  When you fit 16 people in one small car, seatbelts just do not matter.  And pedestrians just walk out into traffic when ever and cross the road.  The most used part of the car...is the horn!!  I think it is for a warning to get out of the way!!!  So we crossed the street, just to say we had done it!!!  And every taxi ride was an adventure.  The first day, I was a bit nervous, after that...it just did not matter!
 
Don and I went out later that night at about midnight, to a shop (which opens at 6:00 p.m. and stays open throughout the night!)  That was another interesting thing...nothing closes...people of all ages out until all hours of the night!!  No one seems to sleep!  At this shop, we drank tea and smoked shish (again do not know how to spell it) it is a water pipe...that was a treat.  So of course Don had to buy one, he has it with him in Sudan, but beware the next time you are here...you will probably have to try it out!!
 
We also went on a Nile Cruise, it was a dinner cruise with singers, belly dancer and this other really neat guy who did a dance.  In one of the pictures, that is Maater...like I said, he was a part of our family.  That was our last night in Cairo...so it was sad to say good bye to him.
 
Then we went to Sharm el-Sheik...to an all inclusive resort.  It was beautiful and it was on the Red Sea.  The water was crystal blue and it was so warm, the shallow parts were actually like bath water.  We went on a day trip snorkelling...which was awesome and it was all video taped, so of coarse, we had to buy that too!!  We saw a ton of unique fish and sting ray and turtle...  The other picture is just Don and the kids playing in the pool at the resort. 
 
I would say the only complaint would be that the resort was owned and operated by Italians, so 90% of the people there were Italian and all the entertainment was in Italian.  So that was a bit of a bummer...because we did not go to any of the entertainment at night...we would not have understood any of it.  Most people also spoke english...but we did not really make any friends nor did the kids make any friends because of the language barrier.  But we just made our own fun.
 
The food was very good at the resort...not so good in Cario.  The first night in Cairo Molly was sick and then the first night in Sharm Donald was sick.  I think they just ate something that did not agree with their system.  And since we have been home, Molly and I seem to be having a bit of a digestive problem...but that will pass soon (I hope!!)
 
The other thing that was a learning curve for me was that everyone expects a tip...the guy opens the door for you..wants a tip...the guy takes your luggage...wants a tip!!  Even if they work there...they still want a tip!!  Most times I would just say no thanks...or I don't have any money!!
 
The haggling at the market was fun...I managed to get some really good deals (I think!!!)
 
We went back for one night to Cairo and then the kids and I fly out at 8:30 in the morning and Don flew back later the same day.  It was hard to say good bye...but we had such a great trip.  Don is homesick and he wished he was coming home with us...but he still has 4 months to go...
 
Plus...we are probably going to go on another trip in October...this time we are looking at a Mediterranean cruise...I want to go to Greece!!!
 
So that is sort of our trip in 500  word or less...but like I said it was amazing!!
 
Talk to you all soon
 
Sheryl
 

Saturday, July 11, 2009

Egypt here we come

This will just be short post to let everyone know that on Monday this week we finally received approval for our trip...so then the flights had to be booked, double checked our hotel reservations and then pack!!!  We are all very excited.  It will be exactly 4 months since we have seen Don, other than on the computer!!  We leave at 11:15 p.m. today (Saturday) and with the time change and lay over for a few hours in London...we will get to Cairo at 12:40 a.m. on Sunday.  I think our bodies and minds will be a little messed up when we get there!!!!
 
I am looking forward to some rest....and having someone else there to answer the million and one questions from the kids!!!
 
The other news is that I was successful in getting the job.  I am very happy...I really enjoy this new position....however I loss my summer lay off...which is a bummer!!!!  That was nice...especially when the kids were younger...now that they are a bit older it is actually pretty good timing.  This will be my first summer to work in 6 years...I am struggling a bit with that!!!  I kind of liked collecting pogey!!
 
Well, off to get all those last minute things done before we leave....
 
When we return I will post things and 'attempt' to put pictures on......
 
Talk soon,
Sheryl, Donald and Molly
 
 

Sunday, July 5, 2009

Camping at Awenda

Just got back from a great weekend with the boys; Christopher, Donald, Adam, Jack and Max.  The boys all had helpful hints on how to start a campfire with gas and/or napalm; I wonder where they got that idea from. 
 
The boys were great. Donald and Jack each helped cook a meal.  The waves were pounding on the rocks in Georgian Bay so the boys tried hiding behind the rocks. They all came home battered and bruised but with big smiles. 
 
I would take this group camping again. They were a great bunch. They kept feeding me beer, hoping that I would then let them do what ever they wanted. Good try boys; I may have been born at night but it wasn't last night.
 
Any way, we all had a great time and they were all a big help.
 
This is my first try at a posting rather than a comment so I hope it works
Ivan
 

Thursday, July 2, 2009

New word of the day: Everythinging

Well this entry has only taken me ummm…a few weeks to get done….I would start and then get side tracked and get back to it a week later…get side tracked…okay you get the picture.
 
Just thought I would talk a bit about the perils of single “everythinging”  That is my new word….don’t think you will find it in the dictionary but I am sure that everyone will understand the gist of what I am trying to say.
 
Don’t get me wrong…I am used to doing a lot of things…but when there really is no one to delegate anything to…it starts to add up.  Plus, sometime I think “if I hear ‘mom’ one more time I think my head will explode!!”.  So I think sometimes I am more mentally tired than physically tired…there is no one else for the kids to go to.  
 
Well, where to begin…let’s just say there just never seems to be enough hours in the day….there just does not seem to be time and when there is time, there is so many things that could be done, it is hard to know where to start.  Some of the things that I have noticed are that I just can’t be everywhere and see and be aware of everything.  For example, one morning, Molly was about to put sugar on her toast…huge fight about it…when she finally says “I have done it before…”  Well, missed that one!!   Another time, Molly and I had a huge argument about wearing her helmet.  She refused and when I told it was the law…her response “I don’t care!” (saw visions of things to come!!!) but then she continues and said “you didn’t care about the other 2 times I rode my bike without my helmet!” Again missed that!
 
I think I should stop…because I am noticing all my examples are about Molly!!!
 
Then on the other end I have Donald, Molly’s third parent (who she often says to “stop being the parent!!!).  He is so responsible it scares me sometimes.  One time I actually had to ask him to please be 12!!!  
 
But he has been a great help as he tries very hard to fill in for his dad and take care of some of the things that Don would typically take care of.  And I really feel that he and I are really establishing an even better relationship…and he is developing quite the sense of humour!!
 
So just to fill in a bit about what I have had to do since Don left…that he would typically take care of or just things that are out of the ordinary…
 
1)    the red van died…so had to have it towed and then when the cost was too much, decide to sent it to the junk yard…deal with that…then deal with getting insurance for the other van…and of coarse insurance tried to charge me an arm and a leg…so called around for a better rate
2)    our tenant in our rental property gave me her notice…she was moving out…so go and clean the apartment, post for a new tenant, show it to a million and one people, put an add in the local paper…finally get a new tenant…get a lease signed etc.  I did have some great help from friends, who tired to find someone and were also my sounding board when I had a question or was stressed about it ! (thank you!!) This was Don’s little project and I had nothing to do with it in the past…now I am two feet into it!!!
3)    Plan our trip to meet up with Don…checking for Mediterranean cruises for May…no June…no…start checking into Egypt for July…go to a travel agent…get told by Don we are not allowed to use a travel agent(?)..find out all the information I can…..
4)    Deal with huge issues at work…long story…not getting into it!!
5)    Try to get the lawn tractor to work so Donald can cut the grass (I think he just wanted to ride the tractor and did not really care about the grass) anyway…after having 4 people look at it…finally it worked and has continued to work (keeping our figures crossed)
6)    Tried to get the wiper sniper to work…it does sometimes and other times…no!
7)    Have a garage sale…just because the street was!
8)    Deal with a bird or birds that have decided to build their home in one of my vents..huge fire hazard according to my neighbour (thank you Bob and Ernie for taking care of that!!)
9)    Dealing with a dead picky shrub in the front that had died!!  (thank you again Bob and Ernie)  It only cost me a bottle of Crown Royal!!
10) Apply for a new job and prepare for the interview.
11) Work fulltime!!!!
 
Well, now that my head is spinning, I think I’ll stop there…and then of course on top of all that there is just general up keep of the house, yard, laundry, grocery shopping, meals, …life!!
 
The kids were also involved in a lot of swim meets, which meant a lot of weekends…gone…we were in Etobicoke, Guelph, Brantford, Collingwood…just to name a few…plus all the practices during the week.  It is done for the summer and I can not say I am disappointed!
 
So I hope I have explained why it has taken me so long to get to this…time …we all need more time. Or at least a housekeeper, gardener, cook, driver…
 
For those that do not know…we are planning on leaving on July 11 for two weeks to meet up with Don in Egypt.  We will be spending about 5 days in Cairo then we go to Sharm El-Sheik for some R & R. The trip has not been totally approved from the UN…but Don hopes to hear very soon and then it will be booked. Sort of leaving it to the last minute..but it builds up the excitement.  We are very excited!!
 
I also want to thank everyone who has called, emailed etc to see how we are doing…it is greatly appreciated and I always tell Don so I know he thanks you also.
 
I will try to write again sooner….thanks John and Sarah for always posting something…it gave me the motivation to get this done.
 
Next time I may even figure out how to put in a picture!!
 
Talk soon,
Sheryl

Monday, June 29, 2009

Canada Day Weekend


Nothing says Canada Day like camping at Killbear with baked potatoes and giant Polish sausages on the grill.
And the clouds of mosquitos.
And Charlie the brat at the campsite next door waking everyone up at 6am.
And Adam across the way getting spanked around 630am.
And the sudden rainfall while trying to pack up.
And of course the 6 hour drive home with all the other happy campers.
And last but not least....the 3 hour clean up and air drying of all gear upon arrival home.

*sigh*

Thursday, May 21, 2009

Hey Haboob!

I see from Sheryl's post that she was with her friends for her birthday and that is great! I also know she was out for dinner on Sunday with Gary and Sally. That girl is never home!
It is getting hotter here up to 115C which is boggling for me...By the end of the day I am a puddle...
The members of the Contingent are starting to rotate through on their first CTO (Cumulated Time Off) periods. The routine is the same we pick them up at an ungodly hour. They are hot tired and filthy. We get them stowed away. They sleep, eat we have a giggle and a laugh and then big hugs as they are out for a couple of days off. Honestly these guys and gals deserve it! Everyone is positive for the most part, if anything frustrated because they aren't able to do more.
We have moved an set up a permanent 'Canada House' as our logisitcs base here in Khartoum. The spot is very nice, with a walled little yard so we are able to sit out when the sun goes down. One of my roommates just came back from CTO and the other is just going...I am out on the 29th!! Hey I love my job but it has been 95 days in uniform so its time for some R&R.
We just went through out first week long huboob. A huboob is like a snow storm except with sand and dust. It hangs in the air for days and basically turns day into dusk. As the sand is fine it gets into everything, electronics, the house, your nose everywhere. I have attached a photo but it just doesn't seem to do it justice.
In case anyone from Sudan is reading, the driver is the one and only Ukrainian Cowboy...Long story of a great guy for another day...Back to the haboob...imagine being in a snowstorm that had 110C winds...It is like standing in front of a blow dryer.
I am really feeling the separation with Donald and Molly. I guess it is seeing the kids in the street. Tonight, honey kiss my kids good night snuggly into their beds. Tuck them in, yes even the man of the house Donald, and tell them their Dad loves them.

Don

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Sheryl's Night Out With The Ladies!


In honour of Sheryl's birthday and the fact that she is fact surviving, the Grimsby Girls went out for dinner! We are happy to report that Sheryl is as charming as ever running the Orillia headquarters solo. We asked all about Don to which she kept replying......uh who??? Oh yeah, yeah, yeah....that guy!